Things that go boom a headache for pet owners

I’ve been in a drought the last couple weeks. I have been neglecting feeding my blog. I can use the excuse of writer’s block, being busy, or consumed by other things.

However, the last couple days have gotten me fired up. I’d like to vent…share…commiserate.

First of all, let me be clear about one thing. I love the Fourth of July holiday and all it stands for. The grand experiment that is the United States of America began with a band of upstarts who dared to envision a better society and a better government. Now, 237 years later, the United States is noisy, it’s messy, and it’s chaotic. But it’s like no other country on earth. And that’s a good thing.

There’s nothing like sharing the holiday with friends and relatives. Picnicking, cookouts, excursions to the beach are all a part of the magic of this holiday that comes right as summer reaches it zenith.

Top it all off with a professionally staged fireworks display – an awe-inspiring visual and sonic cacophony of splendor. That puts the exclamation point on a perfect holiday.

What I have a problem with are the random fireworks displays in my neighborhood. They occur unscheduled, at any time of the day or night, without rhyme or reason.

Over the last couple of days, I’ve seen what these senseless outbursts have done to my dogs. They have sent them cowering under the bed, running around looking for shelter with tails between their legs, and shaking uncontrollably for hours on end.

If this gratuitous noise has this effect on my pets, I wonder about:

–The parent trying to get their infant to sleep through the night
–The senior citizen with a hearing aid
–The shift-worker trying to get some rest
–The elderly individual living alone
–The chronically ill neighbor who is home-bound
–The veteran suffering from post-traumatic stress syndrome

I live in Indiana, where fireworks laws are reputed to be among some of the loosest in the nation. I don’t know whether what I’ve been experiencing is legal, illegal, or somewhere in between. And frankly, I don’t care. Just because it’s legal doesn’t make it right or sensible.

I wonder how these self—proclaimed pyrotechnics experts would feel if someone pulled into their driveway in the middle of the night and started blasting a car stereo. With no forewarning…with no indication of how long it might last…with no regard for anyone else.

There are many other reasons to argue that fireworks, when used, should be handled by professionals only. I’m not about to tackle those arguments.

However, it’s plain as day to me that indiscriminate fireworks blasting over the holidays flies in the face of common decency and respect for others. People need to tone it down a bit for the common good of all! I don’t need the rockets’ red glare in my back yard.

I began this article at 6:30 a.m., the morning of July 5. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve gotta go find my morkie. I thought the worst had passed, but a fresh blast just sent him scurrying off and I need to comfort him.

Let’s all celebrate our Independence by taking a little more time to consider the rights of others…

About boblongwordsguy

I'm living the life in Michigan City, Indiana. Presently seeking a full-time position in marketing communications. Also play keyboards in a classic rock band, the Boogie Men.
This entry was posted in Dogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things that go boom a headache for pet owners

  1. kshikany1 says:

    I completely agree! And it seems to start earlier each year. I understand the beauty of a fireworks display. So enjoy it, professionally. Don’t be setting them off from Jun 15-July 15!

Leave a Reply

